Laying In Awe

Listen to this…

Cars + Love + Girls = Great + New + Music

Cars Love Girls sounds like the blueprint for every great song of the last few decades, but it’s also the name of the new band from former Republic of Loose members Cormac and Orla Breslin.

The band came about when the brother and sister duo, who had always talked about working together, were looking for the next stage to their musical careers after leaving the Loose around two years ago.

“I had a good few songs left over that I had written for the band,” said Bres. “Usually, I would bring along an instrumentals and we would then put lyrics and vocals to them. So, I was left wondering what I would do next with them, and so I decided to finish them myself.

“Orla and I always said we would do something together, and the timing was right, so it happened pretty naturally.”

That natural progression has seen the band put together an album, Skip School, which contains ten highly-polished and accomplished songs that stand out from the current crop of sounds emerging from the capital city.

Imagine the chrome-plated production sound of Steely Dan, the loose funk of early Prince and the warm embrace of Prefab Sprout, and you’re getting close to the sound of Cars Love Girls.

“I’m not really affiliated with the Irish music scene, I’ve been in one band since college, and I don’t play with anyone else. The scene wasn’t an influence, what influenced it was me going back to my record collection and thinking about the artists that I loved and what did I want us to sound like.

“Things like Prince and Prefab Sprout, bands that I never stopped listening to, something that had a groove, and was really polished. It’s almost easy listening – clean, well-produced stuff.

“That was what we were going for and, hopefully, I’ve ended up somewhere in that ballpark.”

The band will play their first official gig at Crawdaddy on July 20, and their live sound is something that Bres and Orla have been working hard on perfecting.

“We’re looking forward to the first show, we’ve been rehearsing for the last couple of months, and it’s sounding good. It’s pretty much exactly the same as the record.

“It’ll take time to grow, and settle down on stage. We have a support slot in September; we’re planning on doing the Hard Working Class Heroes and EuroSonic festivals, as well as the IMRO showcase tour.

“We’re starting from scratch, really doing everything we can. I can’t wait to get the album out there, so we’re looking at the best way of doing that.”

When the album drops, don’t expect Cars Love Girls to remain in the shadows for long. It sounds like the first step on the road to international success.  Here’s one of the debut tracks from the album, Lose Your Mind. Clearly channeling Prefab Sprout, this is a great track.

July 14, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment