Laying In Awe

Listen to this…

Golden Almedal

My superb American friend gave me a selection of CDs she had made for me about a year ago, and in typical fashion, I played some and lost the rest.

When she asked if I had listened to Anne Marie Almedal, I had to shamefacedly admit that I hadn’t. She said that as she was aware of my feminine side (?!), that she knew that I would adore it. So, I set out to find it, and lo, it turned up, worse for wear but still playable, in the boot of my car.

To say I’ve been kicking myself ever since for not letting it be a part of my life sooner is an understatement.

The Siren and the Sage is a simply majestic collection of AMA’s solo recordings to date (such as there were in late 2007).

AMA was the lead singer from Velvet Belly, their Cocteau Twins and This Mortal Coil influences writ large throughout their sound, but AMA solo is something to behold. A stripped down band led by producer husband, Nicholas Sillitoe, featuring only piano and a few other acoustic instruments allow AMA’s voice to rise to the fore and soothe your soul in a quite unexpected way.

Covers of The Lotus Eaters and Strawberry Switchblade surprise, and again speak to her Eighties influences, but fit seamlessly with the self-penned compositions that make up the other 11 tracks.

There is not one track that stands out above the rest, they are all magnificent. Joy,  Trouble, Monterosso, Scarlet… oh man, you need to hear this woman sing.

Try to track down a version of the album that features the defining track that sealed the deal for me, Blue Sky Blue. There are also other tracks out there, covers and reimaginings of songs from the Velvet Belly days, and they are all special, truly special.

This video is taken from a fan-shot Youtube selection of clips from Frogner Kino, a former cinema in Oslo, in December 2007 as a showcase for the album. This was a very intimate gig for a select audience, so take the time to feel part of that intimacy and drown in the voice of the decade. All the clips from the show are on YT, and you should watch them all in the HD version. Especially watch out for her haunting live version of Massive Attack’s Safe From Harm, and Prince’s Paisley Park.

Enjoy Monterosso. So beautiful.

March 21, 2010 - Posted by | Anne Marie Almedal, Chill

No comments yet.

Leave a comment